Universities Approved to Run Postgraduate Programmmes in Nigeria

The National Universities Commission, NUC Publishes Universities [Federal, State and Private] Approved to Run Postgraduate Programmes

The National Universities Commission (NUC) has observed with great concern that some Nigerian universities are running unapproved postgraduate programmes, leading to the award of Masters and PhD degrees.

The Commission has also observed that some Parastatals and Institutes are awarding these same Postgraduate degrees, either on their own or through unapproved affiliations with Nigerian and foreign Universities.

Such practices are not only unethical, but also antithetical to time-tested quality assurance best practices. The qualifications/awards resulting therefrom are not recognized.

The Commission hereby notifies the general public that only the following universities have approval to offer postgraduate programmes at the Masters and Ph.D levels in Nigeria, as of 30th July, 2012:

Federal Universities

  1. Abubakar Tafawa Balewa University, Bauchi
  2. Ahmadu Bello University, Zaria
  3. Bayero University, Kano
  4. Federal University of Technology, Akure
  5. Federal University of Technology, Minna
  6. Federal University of Technology, Owerri
  7. Michael Okpara University of Agriculture, Umudike
  8. Modibbo Adama University of Technology, Yola
  9. National Open University of Nigeria, Lagos.
  10. Nigerian Defence Academy, Kaduna
  11. Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Awka
  12. Obafemi Awolowo University, Ile-Ife
  13. University of Abuja, Gwagwalada
  14. University of Agriculture, Abeokuta
  15. University of Agriculture, Makurdi
  16. University of Benin, Benin City
  17. University of Calabar, Calabar
  18. University of Ibadan, Ibadan
  19. University of llorin, llorin
  20. University of Jos, Jos
  21. University of Lagos, Akoka
  22. University of Maiduguri, Maiduguri
  23. University of Nigeria, Nsukka
  24. University of Port Harcourt, Port Harcourt
  25. University of Uyo, Uyo
  26. Usmanu Danfodiyo University, Sokoto

State Universities

  1. Abia State University, Uturu
  2. Adamawa State University, Mubi
  3. Adekunle Ajasin University, Akungba-Akoko
  4. Ambrose Alli University, Ekpoma
  5. Chukwuemeka Odumegwu Ojukwu University, Uli
  6. Benue State University, Makurdi
  7. Cross River University of Technology, Calabar
  8. Delta State University, Abraka
  9. Ebonyi State University, Abakaliki
  10. Ekiti State University, Ado-Ekiti,
  11. Enugu State University of Science and Technology, Enugu
  12. Imo State University, Owerri
  13. Kano State University of Science and Technology, Wudil
  14. Kebbi State University of Science and Technology, Aliero
  15. Kwara State University Malete
  16. Kogi State University, Anyigba
  17. Ladoke Akintola University of Technology, Ogbomoso
  18. Lagos State University, Ojo.
  19. Nasarawa State University, Keffi
  20. Niger-Delta University, Wilberforce Island
  21. Olabisi Onabanjo University, Ago-Iwoye
  22. Rivers State University of Science and Technology, Port Harcourt
  23. Umaru Musa Yar’Adua University, Katsina
  24. Gombe State University, Gombe
  25. Ibrahim Babangida University, Lapai

Private Universities

  1. African University of Science and Technology, Abuja
  2. Al-Hikmah University, Ilorin (MSc only)
  3. American University of Nigeria, Yola
  4. Babcock University, Ilishan-Remo
  5. Benson Idahosa University, Benin City
  6. Bowen University, Iwo
  7. Covenant University, Ota
  8. Igbinedion University, Okada
  9. Madonna University, Okija (MSc only)
  10. Pan-African University, Lekki
  11. Redeemer’s University, Mowe, Ogun State
  12. Caleb University, Lagos
  13. Joseph Ayo Babalola University, Ikeji-Arakeji, Osun State
  14. Nigerian Turkish Nile University, Abuja
  15. Afe Babalola University, Ado-Ekiti, Ekiti State
  16. Lead City University, Ibadan (MSc only)
  17. University of Mkar, Mkar (MSc only)

Employers of labour, educational institutions and other stakeholders are to note that only certificates issued by these universities, for their approved programmes, are valid for employment, further studies and other purposes.

When in doubt about the status of any programme or certificate, the National Universities Commission should be contacted through info@nuc.edu.ng and the following telephone numbers: 08027455412, 07054407741, 08067787753, 07039254081 and 07082024412 (FAX)
Universities Approved to Run Postgraduate Programmmes in Nigeria Universities Approved to Run Postgraduate Programmmes in Nigeria Reviewed by Lagos University Info on Tuesday, January 16, 2018 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.