Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Science Prize Calls for Entries - 2018

Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Science Prize Calls for Entries - 2018

Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Calls for Entry to The Nigeria Prize for Science US dollars ($100, 000.00) Award, See Eligibility, Submission Procedures, Themes, Panel of Judges, Winners Announcement and Closing Date for 2018.

The Nigeria Prize for Science are sponsored by Nigeria LNG Limited. The prizes are aimed at bringing Nigerian scientists and authors to public attention and celebrating excellence in scientific breakthroughs in the nation.

​NLNG believes that the science prize will provide leaders with answers to crucial issues in development; improve the standards of living and re-energise the scientific community to seek solutions to national problems.

The prizes are administered, on behalf of Nigeria LNG Limited, by the Nigerian Academy of Science and the Advisory Board for Literature made up of members of Nigerian Academy of Letters (NAL) and the Association of Nigerian Authors (ANA).

We hereby informed the general public that the Nigeria Liquefied Natural Gas (NLNG) Limited invites entries for The Nigeria Prize for Science, in line with its vision of helping to build a better Nigeria. This annual prize for Science is endowed by Nigeria LNG Limited (NLNG) to recognise outstanding scientific achievements by Nigerians and non-Nigerians alike for advancing scientific solutions to prescribed problems afflicting Nigeria, as captured by the theme of the year. The winner(s) would receive an award of one hundred thousand US dollars ($100, 000.00). 


The theme for the 2018 competition is: Innovations in Electric Power Solutions.

Entries are therefore invited from researchers for works that contribute to the electric power solutions especially from a Nigerian perspective.


  • The award is open to all Nigerians and non-Nigerians involved in the application of science to proffer innovative solutions to the electric power challenges confronting Nigeria.
  • The work should be of outstanding merit and should have advanced the frontiers of knowledge and/or provided an innovative solution in the area of electric power
  • The material for consideration must be original and indicate the specific area of merit; and all submissions must relate to that particular area.
  • The materials for award must not be under consideration for any other award.
  • All materials in support of the entry must be submitted within the time open for entry submission.
  • Entries, including the supporting documents, must be submitted in six (6) copies.
Also Read:
Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Literature Prize Calls for Entries - 2018


  • As the intention is to recognize the most relevant and effective solution to specific Nigerian problems, works of collaboration by two or more persons are also welcome.
  • Only one entry per contestant(s) is permitted per competition year.
  • No entry previously submitted for this competition may be considered at a later date.
  • Entries not submitted by the stated deadline and according to stated conditions shall not be considered.
  • Members of the Advisory Board or Panel of Judges or their relatives are not allowed to enter their works for the Science prize during their year of service as well as the following year.
  • NLNG staff or their family members are ineligible to enter for the prize.
  • The prize will be awarded for no other reason than excellence.


  • A Panel of Judges shall be appointed for The Nigeria Prize for Science by the Advisory Board.
  • The appointment of judges shall, as far as possible, reflect and represent a multi-disciplinary approach relevant to the theme. Persons appointed as judges are those who have wide experience, peer recognition, good public image and command respect nationally and internationally.
  • The decision of the process shall be final.


  • Professor Alfred A. Susu, FAS, NNOM – Chairman
  • Professor Barth Nnaji, FAS, CON, NNOM – Member
  • Dr. (Mrs.) Nike Akande, CON – Member
  • Professor Michael Adikwu, FAS – Member
  • Professor Elijah D. Mshelia, FAS – Member


All entries must be received by May 25th, 2018. Late entries will not be entertained.


Winners will be announced on October, 2018. And Presented to the Public at a later date.

Entries shall be sent to:

The Nigeria Prize for Literature
External Relations Division
Nigeria LNG Limited
Intels Aba Road Estate
Km 16 Port Harcourt-Aba Expressway
RM.B 5660, Port Harcourt
Rivers State, Nigeria.


The Nigeria Prize for Literature
External Relations Division
Nigeria LNG Limited
4th Floor, Heron House
10 Dean Farrar Street
London, SW1H 0DX.

Please for further Information visit the Nigeria LNG Limited website

Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Science Prize Calls for Entries - 2018 Nigeria LNG (NLNG) Science Prize Calls for Entries - 2018 Reviewed by Lagos University Info on Wednesday, February 28, 2018 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.