Global Pluralism Award for Pluralism Champion - 2019

Global Pluralism Award for Pluralism Champion - 2019

The Global Centre for Pluralism 2019 Global Pluralism Award for Pluralism Champion Nomination/Application, Eligibility, Award Requirement, Award Benefits, Selection Process and Ceremony for 2019.

The Global Centre for Pluralism has officially launched the 2019 Global Pluralism Award. 

The Award recognizes individuals and organizations championing respect for diversity and inclusion around the world. Do you know a pluralism champion? Nominate or apply online today!

About the Award

The Global Pluralism Award celebrates achievement and excellence in the field of pluralism.

The Award is presented once every two years to individuals, organizations, governments and businesses of any nationality.

Through their remarkable and sustained achievements, awardees contribute to building more inclusive societies in which human diversity is protected.

What is Pluralism?

Pluralism is not simply diversity. Pluralism is a principle of respect for human diversity.

A commitment to pluralism requires that diversity is protected and valued.

Human differences become understood as a source of common good and an engine of social and economic innovation.

Award Eligibility.

Nominees must demonstrate remarkable and sustained achievement in any of the wide range of disciplines related to pluralism. These disciplines include:

  • legal reform
  • human rights
  • democracy promotion,
  • social cohesion
  • education
  • ethnic relations
  • conflict resolution
  • peacebuilding
  • migration and integration
Please note that the above is not an exhaustive list.

International Nominees

Eligible nominees from all countries are eligible, including:
  • individuals (e.g. artists, journalists, academics, policy-makers, filmmakers, etc.);
  • civil society organizations (e.g. professional associations, faith-based organizations, labour unions, non-profit research or educational institutions, local community groups, non-governmental organizations, foundations, think tanks, etc.);
  • social enterprises;
  • corporations;
  • educational, research and policy institutions (public or private);
  • local/municipal, regional or federal/national branches of governments, etc.

Award Requirements.

  • Nominees must be living. The Award cannot be given posthumously.
  • Nominees must not be an agency or employee of any of the Centre’s founding partners, namely the Government of Canada and the Aga Khan Development Network.
  • Nominees must not be members of the jury, the Centre’s Board or staff or a consultant receiving remuneration from the Centre at the time of nomination. Close relations and organizations owned or operated by the jury, Screening Committee, the Centre’s Board members and staff are also non-eligible.
  • Individuals and organizations nominated for the Award must not have been found guilty of committing violent crimes, terrorism, or other criminal activities; or have publicly held extremist views

Award Benefits.

  • Each winner will receive a commemorative sculpture that has been designed and handcrafted by renowned German artist, Karl Schlamminger. 
  • Each recipient will receive $150,000.

How to Nominate/Apply for Global Pluralism Award.

Nominations for the Award can only be submitted online through the Global Centre for Pluralism website.

Closing Date

Interested Applicants are to apply before: 30th April, 2018.

Global Pluralism Award for Pluralism Champion - 2019 Global Pluralism Award for Pluralism Champion - 2019 Reviewed by Lagos University Info on Wednesday, March 07, 2018 Rating: 5

No comments:

Powered by Blogger.